Crafting

DIY Cloud Ceiling Decor

Welcome back to another Made It Monday!

This week, I decided to tackle part one of decorating my dining room! My husband and I moved into our house about two months ago and the dining room and kitchen still echo like no one lives there. I wanted to add decor to help absorb some of the sound and make it echo less, but I wanted something more than random artwork or hanging plates.

In my thoughts about how to decorate, I came up with a Pacific Northwest theme! I am originally from the PNW, but we currently live in Arizona. I figured this theme would give me a little taste of back home 🙂

Step one in my process, I decided, would be creating some clouds for the dining room. When I first proposed the idea to my husband, he looked at me and laughed a little and said “Only you would come up with something like that. I’ve never seen that before anywhere. Go for it!” So, here goes!

Here are the supplies you will need for this project:

  • Poly-fil (I got a 5lb box and it was MORE than enough)
  • Hot Glue Gun
  • Hot Glue Sticks (I used almost a whole bag of 50 mini sticks)
  • White Paper Lanterns (I got these ones!)
  • Clear String
  • Clear Push Pins

DSC_0053.JPG

First, I set up all of my lanterns, putting the stands in them to hold the sphere shape. Then, I started to attach the poly-fil to the lanterns with the hot glue. I found it easiest to pull out a piece of poly-fil and spread it out, making it flatter and easier to adhere to the lantern.

FLAT POLY FIL IMAGE

After you have flatten out a piece of poly-fil, just put some hot glue on the paper lantern and stick on the piece of poly-fil! Repeat this process until the lantern is completely covered in poly-fil.

I felt like the individual poly-fil covered lanterns were too spherical, so I decided to glue three of them together to make a better cloud shape. It’s completely up to you, though!

CombineHappy

After you have made all of the clouds that your heart desires, tie clear string in a loop around the stem of each lantern. Then, grab your clear push pins and head to the location that you will hang the clouds. To hang the cloud, I wrapped the string of one lantern around a push pin and stuck it into the ceiling. I repeated this until all clouds were hung up. I avoided hanging clouds in the center of the ceiling by the lights because it made the room rather dark.

20180820_112015

Here’s what each cloud looks like!

 

I am really happy with how they turned out! They definitely make me think of home and they add a unique touch without being cheesy.

Some things I would do differently:

  • Glue lanterns together before adding poly-fil. They would stick together better and lead to a better shape, I think.
  • Use smaller lanterns so they don’t hinder light in the room.

Leave me a comment about how your clouds turned out or if you have any suggestions! Also, stay tuned to see what the rest of my PNW dining decor will look like!

Also, if you’d like to see a video version of how to complete this project, here’s the link! https://youtu.be/GnXxNVOj0t8

Happy Creating! 🙂

Leave a comment